Don’t Tell ‘Em

Do we have to teach anything?

I mean, really. Is there a way to have students create learning more often? Can I create )or find) more activities where they construct and abstract information using scaffolding than I currently provide? I provided them with the opportunity to work with the formula for the sum of the interior angles of a polygon today. Abstracting this formula using examples is not new, but the previous times that I have taught it were far less rewarding and interesting for the students, not to mention more exhausting and frustrating for me. This experience was both effective and enlightening, proving again to me the value of student construction of knowledge. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

