Two Truths and a Lie

There is a game that my wife introduced me to that is called “Two Truths and a Lie”. You tell a group three statements about yourself, two truths and one lie. The more cunning and believable the better. 

A bad example:
1. I am a teacher.
2. I am a guy.
3. I am a multi-millionaire.

The group would guess which is the lie and they would probably guess #3. 

Here is a good example:

1. I have two degrees.
2. I went to two different colleges.
3. I have aspirations of skydiving someday.

A little sneakier, but it is still 3 that is false. I have no reason to jump out of a perfectly good airplane, but a group may not know that.

We were talking about verifying solutions to equations and I did this activity “Two truths and a Lie”. I used the game as a small group ice-breaker, giving them my personal example and after about 5 minutes, I let them loose with a set of 7 problems spread around the room. Here is an example:

Image

I used a Google Form (distributed by QR code) to track responses. Here is a screenshot:

Image

I will look at the data later to see how well they did. I had them work in partners, but report independently. They got a chance to talk about the process and argue over solutions, which was alright with me. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

